

Minutes

Special Council Meeting held Thursday 24 October 2013

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

These minutes comprising pages 1 – 5 were confirmed by Council on 28 November 2013 as a true and accurate record.

Tony Dean SHIRE PRESIDENT

Minutes

1. DECLARATION OF OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

The Chairperson declared the meeting open at 15:42 hours and welcomed attendees.

2. RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE (previously approved)

ATTENDANCE

Councillors Dean, Dobbin, Gilbert, Longmore, Lorkiewicz, Mellema, Slater and Steer.

| Robert Jennings | Chief Executive Officer |
|-----------------|----------------------------|
| Chris Wade | Manager Infrastructure |
| Vic Smith | Manager Corporate Services |

Ms V Hansen JP, for swearing in.

VISITORS

1

APOLOGIES

None

3. SWEARING-IN OF ELECTED COUNCILLORS

In accordance with Section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995 a person elected as a Councillor is to make a declaration in the prescribed form before acting in the office. This will be made before Vicky Hansen in her capacity as a Justice of the Peace.

The Presiding Officer advised that the two (2) re-elected Councillors and two (2) new Councillors are required to make a declaration of office and would call them forward.

1. Mr Dobbin came forward and made a declaration for a four (4) year term and took the oath of alliance before Justice of the Peace, Vicky Hansen.

- 2. Mr Gilbert came forward and made a declaration for a four (4) year term and took the oath of alliance before Justice of the Peace, Vicky Hansen.
- 3. Mr Mellema came forward and made a declaration for a four (4) year term and took the oath of alliance before Justice of the Peace, Vicky Hansen.
- 4. Ms Slater came forward and made a declaration for a four (4) year term and took the oath of alliance before Justice of the Peace, Vicky Hansen.

4. ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT

In accordance with Schedule 2.3 of the *Local Government Act 1995*, the election of office of the Shire President is to be filled as the first matter dealt with at the first meeting of the Council after an ordinary election day. The Chief Executive Officer is to preside at the meeting until the office is filled.

The procedure for Election of Shire President is:

- 1 The Council is to elect a Councillor to fill the office.
- 2 The election is to be conducted by the Chief Executive Officer.
- 3 Nominations for the office are to be given to the Chief Executive Officer in writing.
- 4 If a Councillor is nominated by another Councillor the Chief Executive Officer is not to accept the nomination unless the nominee has advised the Chief Executive Officer, orally or in writing, that he or she is willing to be nominated for the office.
- 5 The Councillors are to vote on the matter by secret ballot as if they were electors voting at an election.
- 6 Subject to clause 5(1), the votes cast under subclause (5) are to be counted, and the successful candidate determined, in accordance with the procedures set out in Schedule 4.1 (which deals with determining the result of an election) as if those votes were votes cast at an election.

In accordance with Section 2.29 of the *Local Government Act 1995* a person elected as a Shire President is to make a declaration in the prescribed form before acting in the office. The declaration will be provided at the meeting.

The Chief Executive Officer invited nominations for the office of Shire President for the 2013 – 2015 period.

The following nomination s for the position were received-

Cr T Dean

Cr Dean was declared Shire President from October 2013 to October 2015.

DECLARATION

The Chief Executive Officer requested the newly elected Shire President make the declaration of office in accordance with section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995.

Cr Dean came forward and was sworn in as Shire President for the period October 2013 to October 2015 before Justice of the Peace, Vicky Hansen, JP.

5. ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

In accordance with Schedule 2.3 of the *Local Government Act 1995*, the election of office of the Deputy Shire President is to be filled as the next matter dealt with after the Mayor is elected at the first meeting of the Council after an ordinary election day.

The procedure for Election of Deputy Shire President is:

- 1 The Council is to elect a Councillor (other than the Shire President) to fill the office.
- 2 The election is to be conducted by the Chief Executive Officer.
- 3 Nominations for the office are to be given to the person conducting the election in writing.
- 4 If a Councillor is nominated by another Councillor, the person conducting the election is not to accept the nomination unless the nominee has advised the person conducting the election, orally or in writing, that he or she is willing to be nominated for the office.
- 5 The Councillors are to vote on the matter by secret ballot as if they were electors voting at an election.
- 6 Subject to clause 9(1), the votes cast under subclause (5) are to be counted, and the successful candidate determined, in accordance with the procedures set out in Schedule 4.1 as if those votes were votes cast at an election.

In accordance with Section 2.29 of the *Local Government Act 1995* a person elected as a Deputy Shire President is to make a declaration in the prescribed form before acting in the office. The declaration will be provided at the meeting.

The Chief Executive Officer invited nominations for the office of Deputy Shire President for the 2013 – 2015 period.

The following nomination s for the position were received-

Cr B Longmore Cr R Mellema

The Chief Executive Officer conducted the Election in accordance with the provisions of the Local Government Act. A secret ballot was conducted and the Chief Executive Officer announced the results:

Cr R Mellema, 7 votes Cr B Longmore, 1 vote

Cr Mellema was declared Deputy Shire President from October 2013 to October 2015.

DECLARATION

The Chief Executive Officer requested the newly elected Deputy Shire President make the declaration of office in accordance with section 2.29 of the Local Government Act 1995.

Cr Mellema came forward and was sworn in as Deputy Shire President for the period October 2013 to October 2015 before Justice of the Peace, Vicky Hansen, JP.

The Presiding Officer declared the meeting closed at 16:09 hours.